Peer Mentors

View Profiles

Year at UW: Third

Hometown: Seattle

About me: Hi everyone! My name is Nell and I am a freshman from Northeast Seattle. Although this year I live off-campus, freshman year I lived in the Honors housing LLC, where I met most of the friends I currently live with. I am majoring in psychology, and I plan to eventually work with kids, possibly as a PT. I currently work as a teacher assistant at the EEU, an inclusion preschool. As someone who is very passionate about health education, I am also a Peer Health Educator on campus and I work with Health and Wellness to bring health resources to students and educate about topics like sexual health and mental health. I also volunteer at Children's hospital and work with a program to promote reading for children. Outside of school, I love running, coffee, and spending time with my friends. Please contact me with questions about classes, balancing school with work and extracurricular activities, or anything else you are wondering about!

Contact preferences

Email: baumgn@uw.edu

Academics

General area(s) of study: Natural Sciences

Current or intended majors: Psychology, Biology

I'd be willing to talk about/tutor the following courses/subjects: Math 124/125, Chemistry, Biology, Physics

Housing Experience

  • Honors Housing
  • Off-Campus Housing

Activities

Research: I worked as an RA in a lab at Seattle Children's

Volunteering/Service: I have volunteered for the UW Medical Center, at a North Seattle Boys and Girls Club, and at Seattle Children's Hospital

Leadership: Peer Health Educator

Clubs/RSOs: Climbing Team

Internships: UW Autism Center

Campus Jobs: Teacher Assistant at University of Washington Experimental Education Unit