Peer Mentors

View Profiles

Year at UW: First

Hometown: Olympia, WA

About me: Hi everyone! My name is Mac (they/them pronouns) and I'm in my second year at UW. I'm an English major with a focus in creative writing, and I'm always down to talk about books, plays, TV shows, and any other "creative writing" that you love to read or watch. I am the assistant Health & Wellness editor for The Daily (our awesome on-campus newspaper) and tutor in Seattle public schools through UW's Pipeline Project. I have also worked as an Honors Peer Educator and held down a campus food service job, for a short spell, and an off-campus internship, for a much longer spell. I can give you tips on the best places to birdwatch, get vegetarian food, or find a quiet space around campus, and I'm an absolute pro at working the bus system to get around Seattle and Tacoma. Though I've lived in Olympia, Washington for the past 8 years, I grew up in Sheridan, Wyoming. Living in Seattle has been a big change, but I love the literary scene in this city! I look forward to hearing from you and answering your questions, especially about Honors, the English department, and writing opportunities on campus!

Contact preferences

Email: murraymr@uw.edu

Academics

General area(s) of study: Humanities

Current or intended majors: English (Creative Writing)

I'd be willing to talk about/tutor the following courses/subjects: English (I've taken 202, 283, 284, 297, 302, 335, 383, 384, and 466), Writing (creative or otherwise), most Honors courses

Housing Experience

  • Honors Housing
  • Other Student Housing

Activities

Study Abroad: This spring I will be studying abroad in London with the English department and could answer questions about the application process and experience!

Volunteering/Service: Pipeline Project

Leadership: Honors Peer Educator

Internships: I have been working for over a year at an off-campus internship at eNotes.com, which has been one of the highlights of my college career so far.

Campus Jobs: Writing for The Daily; HFS Food Service

Scholarships: