Peer Mentors

View Profiles

View my Honors portfolio »

Year at UW: First

Hometown: Manchester, England

About me: Hi! My name is Lara and I'm a Freshman at UW majoring in Philosophy. I am currently exploring different subjects that I may consider for a minor such as LSJ, Anthropology or art. I am very excited to be a peer mentor and also take on a position as a Peer Educator in Autumn Quarter 2019 as I love the Interdisciplinary Honors Program here and can't wait to share my excitement with new students. I am an international student from Manchester, England. I love getting involved with charity work and art projects and am very passionate about music. I attended Stockport Grammar School where I took GCSEs in Classics, History, Art, Maths, English, Chemistry, Physics, Spanish and French (as well as AS Levels in Psychology and Classics) and have A-Levels in Philosophy, Maths and Economics from Abbey College Manchester - So feel free to chat to me about any of those subjects! I also attended summer school at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama in London, so please do not shy away from singing show tunes around me, I will likely join in! My hobbies now involve exploring Seattle, writing music and spending time with my friends!

Contact preferences

Email: laraod@uw.edu

Academics

General area(s) of study: Humanities

Current or intended majors: Philosophy

I'd be willing to talk about/tutor the following courses/subjects: Honors (Honors 100, Honors 212) Philosophy (Phil 102, Phil 120, Phil 206, Phil 340) Art 101, Art 190 Anthropology (Anth 228) Astronomy (Astr 101)

Housing Experience

  • Honors Housing

Activities

Leadership: Honors Community Ambassador