Honors Council

A Community of Faculty, Staff, and Students

The University of Washington Honors Council is a group of faculty, program staff, and appointed students charged with the responsibility of representing the Honors Program. The Council meets quarterly to assess the quality of programs leading to the honors degree and advise the Director of the Honors Program on matters pertaining to policy and changes in curricular and programmatic structure. The Director of the Honors Program also serves as chair of the Council.

Stephanie Smallwood, Director (ex officio)

Juliana Villegas, Associate Director (ex officio)

Janice DeCosmo, Associate Dean, UAA and Interim Director, Robinson Center (ex officio)

Louisa Iarocci, Associate Professor Architecture

Kathleen Woodward, Director, Simpson Center for the Humanities

Therese Mar, OMA/D, Director, Instructional Center

Joyce Yen, UW Advance

Michealann Jundt, Associate Dean, UAA

Ryan Fehr, Professor, Business School

Rachel Chapman, Associate Professor, Global Health and Anthropology

Michelle Koutnick, Research Associate Professor, Earth and Space Sciences

Jake Cooper, Lecturer, Biology

Catherine Connors, Professor, Classics

Manka Varghese, Professor, Education

LaShawnDa Pittman, Associate Professor, American Ethnic Studies and Hanauer Scholar

Paula Heron, Professor, Physics

For more information on the Honors Council or if you have issues that you would like to bring to the Council’s attention, please contact Stephanie Smallwood at ses9@uw.edu