2005 Honors and Awards

Gates Cambridge Scholarship

Provides support for graduate study at the University of Cambridge.

Elizabeth Gray, Biology
Megan Matthews, English

Churchill Scholarship

Provides full support to study engineering, math, or science at the University of Cambridge for one year.

Jared Sylvia, Biochemistry and Chemistry

Goldwater Scholarship

Awards up to $15,000 to approximately 300 sophomores and juniors preparing for careers in engineering, math, and the natural sciences.

Lesley Everett, Biochemistry
Jason Parker, Electrical Engineering and German
Anna Schneider, Biochemistry

Institute for International Public Policy Fellowship

Provides students with specially designed education and training experiences for entry and advancement in international affairs careers.

Glorya Cho, International Studies and Economics

Consortium for Math and its Applications Contest Winners

Recognizes students with exceptional abilities in mathematical modeling.

Ryan Bressler, Mathematics and Anthropology
Braxton Osting, Physics and Mathematics
Christina Polwarth, Physics and Mathematics

Scholarship Medals

Awarded to students with the highest scholastic standing in their class.

Joel Nishimura, Bioengineering
Jeffrey Eaton, Sociology and Mathematics
Sariah Khormaee, Neurobiology and Biochemistry
Elizabeth Gray, Biology

College of Arts & Sciences Dean's Medals

Awarded each year to one student in each of the four divisions of the College.

Jared Sylvia, Biochemistry and Chemistry
Colleen Melody, Law, Societies, & Justice and Spanish
Kathleen Belew, Comparative History of Ideas
Anne Saliceti-Collings, Art History and Comparative Literature

Bonderman Travel Fellowship

Provides $20,000 grants to exceptional students with inspiring plans for foreign travel.

Camden Davis, Computer Science and Comparative History of Ideas
Daniel Hanlon, Comparative Literature (Cinema Studies)
Jennifer Howk, Political Science
Jennifer Lee, Neurobiology and International Studies
Charlie Rogers, Community & Environmental Planning and Comparative History of Ideas

Eberharter Scholarship

Johanna Madany, International Studies

William Gerberding Scholarship

Awarded to students judged to have rendered exemplary service or brought special distinction to the Honors community.

Sierra Michels-Slettvet, Physics

Honors House Leadership Award

Presented in recognition of outstanding efforts to build Honors community.

Nathaniel Green, Biochemistry
Sarah Warburg, History

Henley Scholarship

Awarded to Honors students for the purpose of studying abroad.

Sarah Goldenkranz, Neurobiology

Honors Program Scholarship

Awarded to juniors and seniors on the basis of outstanding performance in the natural sciences, humanities, or social sciences.

Lesley Everett, Biochemistry
Jennifer Lee, Neurobiology and International Studies
Katherine McElwain, Neurobiology

Dillman Scholarship

Awarded to rising and current seniors on the basis of academic merit.

Ethan Welty, Applied and Computational Mathematical Sciences

Bordeaux Scholarship

Awarded to rising juniors on the basis of academic merit.

Leanne Do, Political Science and Communication

Mary Gates Achievement Scholarship

Awarded to rising sophomores on the basis of academic merit.

Alan Randell-Chen, Pre Major

Mary Gates Endowment Scholarship

Awarded to entering freshmen on the basis of academic merit.

Mina Barahimi, Pre Sciences
Sam Burden, Pre Major
Johanna Conver, Pre Major
MacKenzie Conver, Pre Major
Emily Haug, Pre Sciences
Teresa Lee, Pre Major
Elaine Leigh, Pre Major
Patrick Lennon, Pre Major
Marcos Nolan, Pre Arts
Tara Olson, Pre Major
Alyssa Santos, Pre Social Sciences
Jana Slovic, Pre Sciences
Jessica Smith, Chemistry
Jane Song, Pre Sciences
Samuel Sudar, Pre Major
Lily Sweeney, Pre Social Sciences
Thao To, Pre Major
Kent van Alstyne, Physics
Marcia Welk, Pre Social Sciences

Campbell Scholarship

Awarded to an entering freshman who exhibits academic promise and is the first in his or her family to attend college.

Ming Lui, Business

Honors Excellence in Teaching Award

Presented to the most outstanding Honors instructor of the 2004-2005 academic year, on the basis of student nominations and selection by the Honors Student Advisory Panel.

Professor Bob Dumas