2009 Honors Award Recipients

President's Medals

Awarded to students with the highest scholastic standing in their class.
Read the announcement at uwnews.org »

Karlyn Kurokawa - Accounting (freshman medalist)
Chad Klumb - Mathematics (sophomore medalist)
Pavan Vaswani - Neurobiology, Biochemistry, Computer Science (junior/senior medalist)
Laura Hinton - Anthropology (senior medalist)

Bonderman Travel Fellowship

Provides $20,000 grants to exceptional students with inspiring plans for foreign travel.

Evan Easton-Calabria - Germanics; Human Rights
Sara Drescher - Biology; Public Health
Joshua Johnson - Social Welfare; Anthropology
Martina Kartman - Law, Society and Justice; Women Studies; Human Rights and Diversity Studies
Samuel Sudar - English, Philosophy, Neurobiology

Bordeaux Scholarship

Awarded to rising juniors on the basis of academic merit.

Mark Bun - Computer Science

Dillman Scholarship

Awarded to rising and current seniors on the basis of academic merit.

Michelle Christopher - Neurobiology

Friedman-Hechter Scholarship

Byron Gray - Political Science; Law, Societies, and Justice; International Studies (Asia)
Stephanie Ngo - Neurobiology

Honors Program Scholarship

Awarded to juniors and seniors on the basis of outstanding performance in the natural sciences, humanities, or social sciences.

Alison Bilow - History; Anthropology

L.M. Greene Scholarship

Awarded to students based on academic merit.

Sheida Aalami - Anthropology

William Gerberding Scholarship

Awarded to students judged to have rendered exemplary service or brought special distinction to the Honors community.

Alexander King - Informatics
Geoffrey Morgan - Civil Engineering; International Studies

Wang Endowment Scholarship

Awarded to students based on academic merit and deep cultural experiences with Asia.

Sean Wang - Geography

Campbell Scholarship

Awarded to a freshman based on academic merit who is the first in their family to attend a four-year college.

Ronnie Russel

Mary Gates Endowment Scholarship

Awarded to incoming freshmen on the basis of academic merit.

Cezanne Camacho
Alexandra Dolk
Caitlin Donnelly
Sean Higgins
Shelby Woods