2012 Honors Award Recipients

President's Medals

Awarded to students with the highest scholastic standing in their class.
Read the announcement on the UAA website »

Eric Lei - Computer Science; Economics; Mathematics (freshman medalist)
Joanne Hsu - Neurobiology (sophomore medalist)
Jane Hung - Mathematics; Physics (junior medalist)
Nicole Guenther - English (senior medalist)
Melissa Winstanley - Computer Science; Music (senior medalist)

Bonderman Travel Fellowship

Provides $20,000 grants to exceptional students with inspiring plans for foreign travel.

Blake Barnett - Comparative History of Ideas
Holly Candage - Comparative History of Ideas; Geography
Kevin Fernando - English; Neurobiology
Alaska McGann - English
Katherine McKeon - Communication (Journalism); International Studies
Hunter Philips - Neurobiology
Francis Ramoin - French; International Studies

Bordeaux Scholarship

Awarded to rising juniors on the basis of academic merit.

Oliver Miska - Comparative History of Ideas

Dillman Scholarship

Awarded to rising and current seniors on the basis of academic merit.

Sarah Egler - Neurobiology; Psychology
Janelle White - American Ethnic Studies; History

Eberharter Scholarship

Awarded to an incoming freshman interested in international studies.

Jane Wong

Friedman-Hechter Scholarship

Awarded to outstanding students in College/Interdisciplinary Honors

Sarah Boone - International Studies
Kathleen Houck - French; International Studies

Gerberding Scholarship

Awarded to students judged to have rendered exemplary service or brought special distinction to the Honors community.

Roman Camarda - Art (Photomedia); Biochemistry

Hennes Scholarship

Awarded to an outstanding Interdisciplinary/College Honors student involved in the larger University community.

Shelby Handler - English; Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies

Lovsted Scholarship

Awarded to incoming freshmen on the basis of academic merit.

James Gillespie

Mary Gates Achievement Scholarship

Awarded to rising sophomores on the basis of academic merit.

Peter Senchyna - Astronomy; Physics

Mary Gates Endowment Scholarship

Awarded to incoming freshmen on the basis of academic merit.

Raina Borges
Leigh Friedman
Amylia Glaskova
Autumn Grassel
Gabrielle Hsu
Clemence Mendoza
Emiko Peterson-Yoon
James Philips

Stamps Scholarship

Awarded to outstanding incoming freshmen on the basis of academic merit

Alexandra Drury
Alisa Kim

Wang Endowment Scholarship

Awarded to students based on academic merit and deep cultural experiences with Asia.

Ashwin Karnik - Medical Anthropology & Global Health
Benjamin Mo - Bioengineering